In the last century, urban development has focused on building tall building as opposed to wide flat ones. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

There is a rising trend in the development of high-rise properties in the last few decades compared to horizontal houses. While apartments provide numerous pros such as cheap accommodation and space to accommodate a huge number of individuals in one place, they are not risk-free as any hazardous incident can cause a disastrous situation. Firstly, the main benefit is that tower-structured properties can be occupied by a greater population. To explain further, if such a building is built upon the land, the crowd on every floor will share the same amount of space. For instance, Dubai's tallest building, Burj Khalifa, can hold hundreds of thousands of people in one building itself. In addition to this, while housing prices are on the rise, if there were not any tall buildings, the public would have struggled to get a roof over their heads. To illustrate, currently in Canada, detached houses are more than 50% more expensive, in comparison to, apartments. Furthermore, these places are quite easy to settle in, as most of the concerns such as security and garbage are handled by the management. One possible drawback is that there is a lack of safety as opposed to single houses when environmental issues occur. In other words, if there were any natural hazards such as earthquakes, it is far more likely, that the tower structures will collapse. A few years back earthquake and flood in Japan caused a large number of deaths because those high-rise apartments fell down. Furthermore, another thing to consider is that in such tall premises, residents live too close to comfort and the place can often become very noisy and disturbing. In conclusion, I believe that there are more pros to high-rise structures because it helps with keeping a roof over the head and provide ample space for a bigger community to live in a small area. Although the danger of living in these are huge, they occur very occasionally and lead to such damage.