Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial opinions among the public about whether the news is beneficial to our life or not. In my opinion, news and media are two crucial aspects of human society. A small number of people suppose that it useless to keep oneself up to date with the news due to the fact that knowing what is out there doesn't really help much in changing one's living conditions. Some even state that it is distracting to be instantly informed about the incidents that happen around them. For example, my 25 years old friend once said his mood for the whole day was brought down by just a small morning newsletter about a case of some young teenagers committing suicide. He wished he wouldn't have read that piece of news so early in the morning that day. Nevertheless, I personally see this as a tiny side effect of news to some individuals. In some ways, news and media contribute greatly to personal development as well as society. News about technological advancements or human achievements in the social and science fields plays an important role in setting motions to ideas and revolutions within each person. For instance, whenever I see any articles about a famous researcher's scientific finding or a story of a great philanthropist in underdeveloped countries, I suddenly feel a fire of desire to go out there and make some positive change to this world. In conclusion, it is undeniable that news can have some negative effects on people's moods. However, one should be aware of what it is around them to decide on an appropriate living attitude so as to self-reflect and make proper modifications for self-development