Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The passion and necessity of buying cars have been increasing globally for the past thirty years. I certainly agree this has created a huge traffic mess. However, the government can tackle these issues by giving out better options. This essay will discuss the problems caused by a heavy roadblocks, and the measures the state can take to reduce the impacts. It is a known fact that most people travel in their own vehicles. This gives them better convenience; however, this is creating massive traffic during rush hours. People often get distressed, and they waste more time on the road while travelling to work or school. For example, A person who starts at work by 8 am should leave home by 6 am, whereas the actual travel time is just 15 minutes. An average human being wastes approximately 4 hours per day just to surpass the movement to reach the actual destination. It is vital to find an alternative to solve traffic issues swiftly. The authority can organize reliable and cost-effective public transportation options such as trains or buses so that majority of people would be interested in them using. It is important to build a good common transport network which will encourage to use instead of using their own vehicle, such as having more stations/stops where there will be less walking distance between places. It is important that everyone should feel that taking a bus transport is quite advantageous to using cars. The administration also can make awareness about the benefits of public transport in schools and organizations. Recent research conducted by Toronto university suggests that many using public transport are on time for work compared to the ones using their own vehicles. In conclusion, the usage of automobiles has created never-ending traffic problems. The government should keep expanding their network of public transportation so in future the number of used cars will reduce gradually.