Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The passion for buying cars had increased globally over the past decades. As a result, this has created a huge traffic mess. However, the government can tackle these issues by giving out better options. This essay will discuss the problems caused by heavy highway congestion, and the possible measures that the road authorities can take to reduce the overall impact. It is a known fact that people commute in their own vehicles, which gives them better convenience. however, this creates massive expressway traffic during rush hours. People often get distressed, and waste more time on the highway, while travelling to their destination. For example, A person who starts work by 8am should leave home by 6am whereas, the actual travel time is just 15 minutes. An average human being is wasting approximately 4 hours per day just to surpass the roadblocks to reach the final destination. It is vital to find an alternative to solve highway issues swiftly. In many countries, the government had organized reliable and cost-effective public commute options such as trains or buses so that majority of people would be interested to consume. It is important to build a good common transport network which, will encourage to use instead of using their personal vehicle, such as having more stations/stops where there will be less walking distance between places. It is important that everyone should feel that taking a bus saves time and money compared to using their personal automobiles. The administration also can make awareness among the public about the benefits of general transportation for schools and organizations. Recent research conducted by Toronto university suggests that many using public transportation are punctual for work compared to the ones using their own transportation. In conclusion, the usage of their own transport has created never-ending traffic problems. The ministry should keep expanding its network of public transport so in future the number of used cars will reduce gradually over a period of the future.