Writing Topic 4- Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people’s private lives, while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

While it is thought by several people that there should be no restrictions on what news channels broadcast, there are others who believe that they should not be allowed to release personal life matters of individuals. I consider that there should be somewhat control due to the severity of the confidential information in some cases. On the one hand, it is believed that these media corporations must be given freedom so that they can generate profits. To further explain, luring people into buying their newspapers or watching their channels help increase their revenue. Therefore, it becomes necessary for such corporations to leak information which public would be interested in. For example, Indian new platforms that generally talk about celebrities' lifestyles and their relationships are earning far greater than their competitors. On the other hand, there are some who think that they should be restricted from broadcasting anything they want to and I agree. When unlimited freedom is given, they are more likely to cook up false stories to attract views and these can lead to catastrophic results both mentally and physically. For instance, last year, in India, a celebrity, coming from a small village of Jhansi, committed suicide because someone in the media leaked that he was homosexual. Furthermore, it is a common human right to have privacy. If something personal is to be made available to the public, it has to be out of their consent. To conclude, despite the varying opinions of others, I believe that these media platforms should be supervised from leaking personal information as it can cause detrimental effects to someone's health, also it is a basic human right to have privacy.