some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this?What can be done to solve the problem?

It is true that some college students find that the courses they signed up for are not suitable for them. There are a variety of causes for this problem, and I believe that as these steps below are used, improvement will be seen. It is the responsibility of colleges and parents to make this phenomenon. On one hand, as a freshman, students are strange to the new lifestyle, which results in that they usually have no idea how to choose courses and just sign up for someone by feeling. While colleges don’t provide enough support, for example, tutor guides, conversations with senior students and career development courses. On the other hand, parents have not fostered students ' independence which is one of the most important features in the adult world when they were young. They used to replace their child to make decisions and only focus on their academic performance, which leads these students afraid of choosing by themself. From my perspective, universities should design some guiding courses for freshmen by senior students or postgraduates who have more experience with sign-for lessons and will help those new students with not only academics but the college lifestyle. Also, universities can allow students quiet lessons which they signed up for before during the first week of the term. This means students can be more flexible to adjust their study plans. In addition, parents need to learn some advanced teaching methods, for instance, how to instruct children to build confidence when facing choices. This can be achieved by letting children know what they want to be and what they want to do in the future, which could help them avoid making error decisions. In conclusion, the appearance of this problem is caused by universities and parents of students. But I firmly think, if the school provides more guides and parents focus more on children’s independence, the problem would be tackled well.