Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Rapidly evolving technology and a fast-moving era have allowed us to stay informed regarding national and international affairs. Many believe that listening, watching or reading the daily news has no impact on individuals. While some may agree with this and feel that this information has a negative impact on society. However, I strongly disagree and believe that newspapers and televisions are the key sources of keeping us up to date with various different aspects of life. To begin with, I feel that most key information is passed on by the media. For example, daily news regarding the economical situation, stock rates as well as jobs are all important categories of information which are passed on. As a result, we remain up to date with the economical situation worldwide. Next, knowing what is currently happening around us and on a larger scale, worldwide is imperative. For instance, staying aware of various political situations can heel deepen our knowledge of the surroundings. Moreover, the news isn't restricted to one specific topic. Essentially, it covers various different departments such as sports, gaming and e-commerce. Hence providing us with valuable information. Lastly, reading the newspaper allows us to increase our general knowledge, and improve our English speaking as well as grammar skills. To cite an example, reading articles in newspapers allows us to come across vocabulary that we may not have heard of before. Furthermore, we learn from these words and better our reading and speaking skills helping us to further strengthen our knowledge. Consequently, this can be seen as a positive as it can help us both academically and in general. To conclude, newspapers bring us a plethora of facts and figures. Without a doubt, it is very informative as it provides us with an abundance of knowledge in every category. Therefore, I believe reading or watching the news is not a time-wasting activity and is vital to every individual, whether adult or child worldwide.