These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been an interesting trend that the numbers of both working mothers and house-keeping fathers are growing over the last decades. This essay will analyze the possible reasons for this tendency, also using examples from the UN and the UK government to demonstrate points and prove this is a positive development. To start with, there are numerous factors contributing to this situation. One primary reason is that the public perception about family roles has changed. Generally speaking, people living in ancient times believe husbands should be the breadwinner while wifes need to take the responsibilities of taking care of children and doing household chores at home. Whereas modern citizens are no longer believing such out-of-date concepts and advocating the view that individuals should have rights to decide which role they want to play regardless of their genders. Another contributor is that most company recruiters nowadays are placing more emphasis on personal capabilities rather than genders. Since mental work are gradually supplanting manual work due to the advancing technology, women, who are biologically weaker than men, can now have a chance to compete with others through better academic qualifications and richer work experience. Therefore, more intelligent women are able to earn jobs and become the one who raise their families. This essay believe that it is a positive improvement as it is beneficial to both families and society. First of all, there is ample evidence that families with working mothers could become more harmonious and cohesive. That is because family members are more likely to live the way they like and make contribution to their families respectively by either working or doing full-time house work without the limit of sexual prejudice. For example, recent research by the UN shows the relationship of couples in families where men are full-time house keepers and women are working are dramatically better and such couples are unlikely to divorce. Besides, women's intelligence is better than men's, which means they might be able to generate more revenue for their employers. For instance, an intensive study by the UK government indicates female's work performances are better than male due to their different thinking patterns compared to that of men. Consequently, we can state beyond doubt that women workers can bring more enconomic benefits to society. In conclusion, the shift of family roles in this day and age is attributed to the improvement of people's concepts and businesses. In addition, this trend is positive on account of its impacts on both families and society.