In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, looks have become more crucial than any other aspect of one’s life and therefore people are splurging large sums of dollars on cosmetic surgeries and focusing on gaining popularity. This advancement has had negative consequences and the reasons for the same are highlighted in the following paragraphs. With the advancement in medical sciences, cosmetology procedures have gained significant popularity in today’s world resulting in attracting huge crowds. Additionally, influential personalities such as popular actors and artists are normalizing this trend by enhancing their on-screen appearances and giving a youthful appeal to their admirers. To illustrate further, a survey has been conducted by United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Organization, indicating 65 per cent of the adults are willing to opt for treatments that make them appear younger. Next, due to the adoption of western culture, people are drifting away from their traditions. Additionally, fame and materialistic gains have become the symbol of success for many pupils that they believe will be lost if they do not keep their outlook enhanced resulting in the wastage of financial resources. To exemplify, huge spending is being normalized by actresses to get younger-looking perfect skin and features in order to gain continuous work in films and television thus inculcating an inferiority complex in the middle age women around the globe. To summarize, instead of opting for artificial alternatives, one should resort to natural ways of maintaining their body and mind. This not only is a healthy option but also helps in preventing the wastage of financial resources. The elderly should be encouraged to share their life experiences and welcome each phase of life rather than worrying about such superficial issues.