Many people use written language in less formal and relaxed way. Does this development have advantages and disadvantages?

While some people may consider the idea of using written language in a more relaxed way as a negative development, the positive sides of this type of contact, such as expeditious and transparent communication, clearly dominate the drawbacks. The simplification of conversations can be regarded as a benefit of using less formal written language. New ways of communication may be closer to the speaking language, so people need less knowledge in selecting the right vocabulary and grammar. As a result, the process of writing and sending information takes less energy, which is a clear advantage for people who often work with texts. Although, a new way of communication may be the cause of the partial damage to language, it also saves the time spent on the drafting and checking of the documents because less attention is paid to the accuracy of the way data is given. This may result in the appearance of the opportunities for people to do other tasks at work, and it might be considered efficient for the companies. Turning to the disadvantages of using less formal written language, it should be mentioned that there may be two negative consequences. The major drawback is the language deterioration. People can change rules in language and even dispose of some of them by using this way of communication. These modifications can lead to the oversimplification, degradation and even the partial damage to the language due to the decreased amount of complex vocabulary and grammar, which leads to the second negative side of this topic that is the rise of unintelligent people. The ignorance rises because humans stop learning grammatical rules of language when they use simplified phrases and words. In conclusion, although using less formal written language may create certain drawbacks, the positive aspects of it are more numerous and might change people ’s way of communication and delivering the information for the better.