Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. How far do you agree or disagree?

Sport activities, which involves one or more players with an aspect of competition, happens to have a huge place in our schools' program. Some people may think that these kind of sports are not necessary, but in my opinion, we can't just exclude them from the school curriculum. First of all, doing a sport is highly important for children who are in need of improving their health, both mentally and physically. Sports can be elemental for preventing diseases, because constant movement provides a healthy lifestyle and an escape from obesity. From my experiences as a medical student, I can say that obese children have a problem of not participating in this challenging activities. Other than that, as I mentioned, being part of a team can be extremely beneficial for children in a mentally way. One can learn how to be a team player, or even a leader, and also participating in team sports can provide social benefit of having more friends. Apart from this, involvement in a sport which requires one person to do it can be highly educational for a child. These children have a chance to learn from their mistakes, but also they can learn that working hard provides the achievements that they want. When I was a pupil, I had experienced that being involved in these kind of sports have made me a successful student later on. Overall, I definitely think that sports, especially ones which involve competition, have crucial advantages in a child's life and education. They have a major place in the education system but I also think that it can be expanded in the future, so that more children would have a chance to gain the benefits that I have mentioned before.