In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. WHY is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Exaggeration in advertising has always been an effective trick for businesses to lure more customers to consume their products. As a result, many companies have been making efforts to convince the public that they are selling products with state-of-the-art features. I personally support this; however, some aspects of this matter must be considered to protect consumers' rights. Nowadays, there are a bulk load of products with similar models and inviting features from many different providers in the market, which turns it into a battlefield where corporates fight against each other to win customers ' trust and money. This forces businesses to put themselves in an advertising competition to prove their product's modernity and exclusiveness and to attract buyers. For instance, the new iPhone models always come out with new features such as enhancement in battery life, screen display technology or Satelite service. Additionally, with the fast-growing pace of media and e-commerce, customers ' behaviour has now changed as people are now shopping for relaxation rather than need. If companies want to sell their products faster, they have to make customers feel like they want to experience a brand-new product with significant quality, even when they don't really need it. Despite the fact that this way of advertising can bring big money and help businesses to increase sales considerably, it has severe underlying side effects. Customers at first may be excited to have a chance to try out the brand new product, yet this feeling will soon go away because they sure feel curious about other products of different companies using the same advertising technique later. Do you ever for more than once feel regret having buy a phone instead of waiting for a new model released only a week after that? In conclusion, this is just an effective method of advertising and it possibly brings big profits to companies and businesses who want to upsell. Nevertheless, it only has a short-term effect.