"Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that a good father is the source of inspiration and a good mother is the root of kindness. Without a doubt, child-rearing is a crucial aspect of parents’ lives. As women undergo drastic physiological and emotional changes during their pregnancy, some people believe that mothers are the only responsible ones for bringing the children up. However, from my perspective, the traditional family, with both parents providing emotional and financial support, is the most satisfactory way of bringing up children. To begin with, nowadays in many countries women work outside homes to help with the financial status of the family. For instance, in Japan many female employees work full-time, and they are not encouraged to consider the pregnancy, for they might leave their work during the phase of motherhood to take more care of their newborn. As a result, it is argued that the decisions of having babies in most parts of the world are mainly made by women, as motherhood has a great influence on the families. Another point which is widely considered is the crucial rearing techniques of fathers in families. Mostly, men plan ahead to be well-prepared and ready for every occasion and crisis. This would lead to a happier environment which is appropriate for child-rearing. As an example, if a family considers travelling, the father will plan weeks before, making sure the family members have safety and adequate facilities during their trip. In addition, it is scientifically proved that men are better at saving money for longer periods, so fathers would be a great help to provide financial support for families. In conclusion, as far as I’m concerned, fatherhood should be as important as motherhood and both parents are responsible for bringing up children, as many mothers work outside the homes just like fathers to provide for their families. In addition, fathers have specific techniques which will be crucial in child-rearing.