Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few individuals are of the opinion that commercials are very commonplace and that they do not any more notice them. While others argue that paid announcements are exceptionally influential in convincing them to acquire commodities. This essay agrees with the latter school of thought. Firstly, this will discuss how social publishing is playing its role, secondly, how targeted marketing works and then followed by a conclusion. On the one hand, with the increased number of artificial intelligence-based social platforms, it has been observed that human beings are fed a tremendous amount of marketing content every day making them ordinary. What's more, even the pictures and videos posted by influencers on social networking platforms about their daily lives are always paid promotions of a certain variety. As a consequence, people might become insensitive to what those promotional posts are saying and quickly scroll through to what they are interested in. However, this is a flawed argument as if such directed campaigns did not yield any sales, some public relations companies and inspirers would not have become so wealthy. For example, in 2018, Glow Recipe a renowned skincare company reported a 50 per cent boost in revenue as a result of publicizing hyaluronic acid being the main ingredient required for hydrated skin through social media brand ambassadors. On the other hand, there is a think tank that puts effort into creating a targeted advertisement that not only places the idea of purchasing a certain commodity in our minds moreover, wheedles us in obtaining it as well. This is called target marketing which is executed through catchy campaigns and commercials by aiming the issues that are close to the general public and desired by them to happen in their personal lives. Many have been prone to this and end up purchasing products that are hardly used after their initial shelf life. I agree with this as I too have been getting my hands on unnecessary things. For example, in December 2020, Omnicom Group helped Sprite a carbonated beverage of Coca-Cola increase sales to 80 per cent in freezing temperatures, by attracting a young audience which was interested in spicy food. The narrative was that spice and Sprite go together as Sprite makes the heat of the food tastier. In a nutshell, although advertisements are now very common due to access to the internet, still the advertising agencies behind them direct the commercials attractively which lures human beings into buying things they might not need.