An increasing number of people are buying what they need on the internet. What are the advantages and the disadvantages for both individuals and company shopping online

Technology has rapidly evolved to fulfil many aspects of life. Due to increasingly accurate technological advances, more of the population is taking a keen interest in shopping online. In this essay, we will discuss the benefits and drawbacks online shopping can bring to individuals as well as the company. On the one hand, many advantages can be enumerated. Firstly, due to our busy lifestyles and increasingly tight schedules, shopping physically at a store has become somewhat difficult. For example, many people work full-time jobs, commute for long hours and spend the rest of their time with their families or in social affairs. Moreover, time becomes of the essence and this is where shopping on the internet saves a lot of time. People don't need to commute or take out any special slots during their day and can order with just a click right from the comfort of their own homes, where items can be delivered as quickly as the same day. Secondly, companies also widely benefit from selling their items online. For instance, many businesses don't require shop fronts or warehouses to display their goods. Thus saving money on employee wages as well as the costs of running a building. On the other hand, where there are advantages,unfortunately, cons also remain. To begin with, buying goods online may prove to be more costly. To cite an example, ordering online for consumers, can mean paying slightly higher costs for items that would otherwise be cheaper if purchased in-store. Furthermore, companies may charge for delivery, incurring additional costs. Hence, although shopping online may be convenient, it can be more costly. Next, one of the biggest disadvantages for a company is cybercrime. To illustrate, even though many companies have safe methods of payment set up, their systems can occasionally get hacked into. As a result, causing the company a loss as they have to reimburse their customer. To conclude, with every positive there will always be a negative. However, if security is tightened as well as lowering the costs of shopping online, online shopping will continue to rapidly rise. Consequently becoming the main way for a consumer to purchase their goods on the internet.