Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

Technological advancement has encouraged the proliferation of ample high-tech means of recreation. From my perspective, although some regarded this phenomenon as positive, I deemed it more detrimental. It goes without saying that the application of technology in pastime activities is favourable in terms of its diverse categories of entertainment and widespread accessibility. Obviously, nowadays, people have a variety of choices regarding the preferred means of entertainment, ranging from films, games or performances. Thus, this diversification would definitely enrich people's mental and spiritual lives. Moreover, due to their availability, the widespread accessibility of technological leisure activities has been enhanced. For example, people owing digital devices such as smartphones can access both online and offline games at ease within their convenience. However, I opine that the dependence on technology for free time amusement is more disadvantageous due to its adverse impacts on health as well as on intimate relationships in a community. Regarding the former, it is true that recreational activities based on technology mostly require people to sit for long periods of time, which promotes a sedentary lifestyle. As a consequence, the number of individuals suffering from eye strain or obesity has increased significantly. Concerning the second drawback, the high level of participation in technological entertainment poses the risk of reducing the quality of face-to-face interaction, thereby damaging the strong bond among people including friends and family. In conclusion, the increasing reliance on technology for recreation is beneficial in terms of its variety as well as accessibility. However, I take the view that related health issues and potential of harming interpersonal relationships are worth more concern.