Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

It is said that excessive working hour is the primary cause of enormous personal and social troubles, and ought to diminish to 35 hours per week. There are both benefits and drawbacks regarding this statement which will be discussed in this essay. First and foremost, the upside is that workers can spend more time with their families and their interests. It is true that declining office time means employees have extra free occasion in the day, they can make good use of this time to work out or have a family gathering. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 90% of the workforce mentioned they have an unbalance between work and life due to the prolonged working period. It reveals that the labour force tends to feel stress with insufficient free time. However, lowering the duty period provides an opportunity for employees to spend time with their family members, like kids and parents, as well as, explore their interests, such as playing tennis and hanging out with friends in an attempt to unwind a bit. As a result, a reduction in office hours allows labour forces to use their spare time to stay company with their beloved ones, and undergo some destressing activities. Nevertheless, it is not uncommon for companies to suffer from a loss due to the decline in working time. As we all know, firms wish to improve the working efficiency and productivity of their staff, and therefore they set the minimum office period to ensure their employees have enough time to complete the weekly tasks, as well as, cooperating projects. For instance, the boss expects a certain project can be finished in a month, but because of the reduction in office hours, the progress of the project is below schedule and might have to extend to around 2 months, which depicts that the productivity and efficiency among staff will then worsen. It is undoubted that enterprises have a higher chance suffer from a decrease in profit earned based on the slow performance of the workers. On a whole, this matter creates an adverse effect on companies. In a nutshell, despite the fact that lowering office time provide more free space for the workforce to bond with families and explore their interest, by contrast, this measure produces a negative effect on enterprises.