The advantages and disadvantages of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs).

Massive open online courses (MOOCs) are free web-based distance learning programs which provide high quality content from some of the world’s best universities for free to anyone with a computer and an Internet connection. There are many popular platforms such as Coursera, EdX, Alison and Great learning, which deliver free and paid courses. All these programs have benefits and drawbacks. The major advantage of these educational sites is that they are accessible to everyone who can't attend traditional classes owing to limitations with their time, place of living or finances. Furthermore, learners could browse through the curricula and choose the course in case they are not oriented on what to study. These educational programs deliver certified courses from professors working in the best-known schools. Another benefit of MOOCs is the possibility to use the resources such as libraries, open textbooks, and lessons for free. They offer traditional course materials such as previously recorded lectures and readings, as well as interactive user forums to support interactions among students and lecturers. What is more, the materials are available and at your disposal during the period of the course. On the other hand, these web-based platforms have some negative aspects. Firstly, they cannot ensure personalized and extra attention from a tutor. Some of the students need to be guided and supported during their learning to achieve certain progress. In addition, MOOCs are limited. Although they are web-based, learners with disabilities and poor internet connections are not able to attend online courses. In conclusion, it seems that MOOCs have as many benefits as drawbacks. In my opinion, their customers increase in number due to the globalization and digital revolution in higher education.