These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been an interesting trend that the numbers of both working mothers and housekeeping fathers are growing over the last decades. This essay will analyze the possible reasons for this tendency, also using examples from the UN and the UK government to demonstrate points and prove this is a positive development. In fact, there are numerous factors contributing to this situation. One primary reason is that the public perception toward family roles has changed. In ancient times, people believe husbands should be the breadwinner while wives need to take the responsibilities of looking after children and doing household chores at home. Whereas modern citizens no longer believe such out-of-date concepts but advocating the view that individuals should have the right to decide which role they want to play regardless of gender. Another contributor is that most company recruiters nowadays are placing more emphasis on personal capabilities rather than other aspects. Since mental work is gradually supplanting manual work due to advancing technology, women, who are biologically weaker than men, can now have a chance to compete with others through better academic qualifications and richer work experience. Therefore, more intelligent women are able to earn jobs and become the one who raises their families. This essay believes that it is a positive improvement as it is beneficial to both families and society. First of all, there is ample evidence that families with working mothers could become more harmonious and cohesive. That is because members in such families could respect others’ choices and make contributions to their families respectively by either working or doing full-time housework without the limit of sexual prejudice. For example, recent research by the UN shows the relationship of couples in families where men are full-time housekeepers and women are working are dramatically better and the divorce rate is lower. In addition, the social economic outlook can also benefit from female professionals’ contributions. For instance, an intensive study by the UK government indicates that in over 75% of UK-based international companies, female workers are able to generate more revenue for their employers since their work performances are better than male employees. Consequently, we can state beyond doubt that women workers can bring more economic benefits to society. In conclusion, the shift in family roles in this day and age is attributed to the improvement of people's concepts and the requirements of company recruitment. In addition, this trend is positive on account of its impacts on both families and society.