Television has diminished the free time of people. It can make people lazy and not socialize with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Since last few decades, television has been the main source of entertainment for everyone. While many people use it to relax or enjoy during their free time, others believe that it has eaten up the free time of people and has made them lethargic. I wholeheartedly agree with the latter one, and this essay will elaborate on why it has diminished the free time and how it is making people lazy. In recent times, television has become an addiction for almost everyone. In this fast moving and hectic life, everybody looks for a quick source of entertainment which is provided by the televisions. Over a period of time, people get connected with the content being consumed and do not even realize that they spend almost all of their free time in front of it. It has become a vicious cycle that the more they consume, more will be their addiction to stick to their screens, which leaves no time for their family or the personal hobbies. Furthermore, with the introduction of over-the-top content from the platforms like Netflix, people have reduced socializing which is making people lazy. Earlier, for instance, people used to go out on weekends to enjoy with their family and friends, however, now everyone is leaned toward the culture of binge watching where they complete the whole series of content in a single go. This has led to various mental health concerns like stress and anxiety, which subsequently also results in lethargic behaviour. In conclusion, just like any other thing in this world, television has its own boons and banes. If it is consumed for a limited period of time, it could be a excellent source of entertainment, however, its prolongued use can be very dangerous and may negatively impact one's quality of life.