Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities n the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, the traffic jam issue is turned into a vital problem around the world because of increasing car ownership. There are different views about this issue which can be solved by the government and will explain in the following essay. Some people and I think that there are numerous reasons for increasing traffic congestion. Rising society's tendency to convenience and inappropriate structure of streets perhaps are two more important of them. For example, in a family which has four members and each member has own his automobile, when they use their cars for commuting every day everday, so this attitude contributed cintributes to incresing traffic in the city. In addition, some street structures are not suitable for the number of cars. For instance, the width of some streets is narrow which leads to traffic jam have increased. On the other hand, there are some solutions which can be done by the government in order to tackle this problem. Imposing subsidies on public transportation tickets are one solution. It means the government should encourage people through different means like this to they prefer to choose public transportation vehicles instead of personal cars. Also, it should raise tax on end-user car prices. Obviously, this solution results in a decline in demand for buying. To sum up, in my opinion, the preferences of people to having personal cars contribute to having huge traffic. Adding subsidies on public transportation tickets and increasing car price tax are two possible measures which can be done by the government to delving this issue.