In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Could this trend have a more positive or negative effect on society?

The ageing rate has attracted ever-increasing public concerns in many nations. Whether the percentage of elderly people is increasing significantly is a positive or negative of growth. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are two major merits when it comes to having more and more senior citizens nowadays. Firstly, it is noticeable for us to recognize that the high percentage of elderly people brings about a large number of skilful labourers in the workforce. Only by having experienced many obstacles, do seniors become much more decisive, confident, and rich in knowledge, which makes them valuable in the labour force. Another benefit is that governments in certain countries have paid more attention with a view to enhancing not only the health system but also the standard of living. In Japan, for example, with a high ageing percentage for many years, the authority has decided to find a variety of outdoor activities such as yoga or dance, so the elderly public found it not challenging to stay healthy. Hence, Japan has ranked first in the average life expectancy around the globe. On the other hand, I suppose that the demerits are more significant than such merits. One reason for this view is the lack of employees in the labour force. Although the older public possesses demanding skills, they do not suitable for heavy tasks such as lifting and furniture. When the ageing rate occurs in some nations, entrepreneurs get either robots or artificial intelligence to accomplish these duties. On top of that is the extravagant expenses in treatment. Because the ageing rate is climbing considerably, cutting-edge hospitals are said to be constructed by the governments in order to save the elderly’s life. According to recent surveys, almost 90% of the old are not only totally treated but also saved regardless of dangerous diseases, which are derived from top-notch medical facilities. In conclusion, it seems to me that the negative effects of this tendency of growth are more significant than the positives.