To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the recent years, the overpopulation in the whole world has raised an issue of using such unconventional food as insects. Even though this solution could potentially lead to solving famine in some under-developing countries, eating insects may also harm human health. In addition, insect farming to feed large masses of population might damage our environment. In my opinion, the disadvantages of using insects as food by far outweigh advantages. The reasons supporting this opinion will be discussed below. To start with, one evident disadvantage of eating insects is potential damages to our health. Regardless the claims that insects are rich with protein, vitamins and minerals, authoritarian and incontrovertible/ indisputable evidence supporting this idea is yet to be discovered. Furthermore, the fact that insects are arguably common food in some Asian and African cultures, does not imply that they can become an integral part of other cuisines around the world. Being compatible with one culture may not lead to the same result in another. On the contrary, insects may cause serious issues as many kinds of bacteria that are known to make people sick have been found in them. Another possible hard is that insects can be a choking hazard due to their hard parts which include stingers, wings, sharp mouthparts, and spines. These are paradoxically the main disadvantages of using insects as food. Another clear challenge is related to an attempt to decrease food shortages. To provide enough sustenance for big communities implies raising and breeding too many insects and this will inevitably affect the ecosystem. A significant increase in the number of one type of species may cause a dramatic ecological imbalance in the flora and fauna and lead to possible disappearance of certain animals and plants. Thus, a strive to decrease famine may result in undesirable and drastic natural balance. One possible benefit of eating insects is that insects require less care and upkeep than livestock. Therefore, they could be an easy solution to creating a sustainable global food system in the wake of Covid-19. In conclusion, even though there are certain advantages of using insects as a food source, potential health problems and the affect on the environment outweigh the advantages.