Some people say that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behavior on and off the playing field is not important. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is said that we should not consider the athletes ' behaviours unless they perform well in their field. However, I entirely oppose this statement based on athletes acting as role models and they are representing their teams. First and foremost, enormous individuals admire well-known sportsmen. It is true that countless people enjoy watching sports games, such as the Olympics and the World Cup, and they are fans of some athletes. For instance, the majority enjoy the Tokyo Olympics 2020 games, and ginormous Hong Kong citizens admire the persistence of our world fencing champion, Cheung Ka Long. Likewise, Ka Long became a role model for a massive number of Hong Kong residents, and people wish to learn from him, such as his fencing skills, and his determination. It reveals that sports athletes ' behaviours are extremely crucial as their fans may learn from them. For example, if a sportsman is a drug addict and his crowd might follow him to take pills and thus form a bad habit. As a result, sports performers have to be aware of their behaviours as they act as role models for their supporters. Furthermore, maintaining good behaviour is significant to sports players as they are representing their sports teams. As we all know, sports players usually belong to one sports team, like the team Manchester United. It is undoubted that sports performers have to strive for perfect attitudes, otherwise, their bad habits will be reported by the news, as they are regarded as celebrities, and public figures. Multiple pieces of research illustrate that over 80% of individuals claimed they tend to support the sports teams with the best reputation in terms of the player's actions. It depicts that people tend not to support performers who have negative images, such as smokers or drug addicts. Therefore, it is essential for sports stars to maintain a good image so as to maintain their popularity. In a nutshell, I strongly disagree with this statement as the reputation of the sports stars is vital, as well as, athletes ' attitudes can influence their fans directly.