Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life? Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Fame can be broadly taken to imply complete exposure to the prying eyes of the public. Famous people, therefore, often become an object of media attention. Including their private lives. Some people, however, believe that the involvement of the media in the privacy of public figures is rather unfair, others say it is the price these individuals must pay for their fame. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own view. On one hand, privacy is the fundamental right of every human being. Men and women who are famous still fall into this category as such, their right to self-dignity and respect should be a given. For example, what happens in their relationships ought to be nobody’s business. Also, other aspects of their lives are actually not part of their fame. Therefore, those areas should not be investigated by the media. For instance, it is rather unfair to the children of public figures, especially those who are afraid of attention, that they are stalked by men and women in the press. On the other hand, by becoming a very important person in society, one automatically becomes a role model. People, therefore, want to know every step they are taking so that they can emulate also. Take, for example, a music star, young boys and girls love to copy clothes worn by these stars. This makes it impossible for them to stay out of view of prying eyes. Superstars also have a responsibility to give back to society. The press, therefore, needs to track how they are doing this. After all, society made them great. In summary, famous individuals get treated unfairly by the invasion of their private lives by the media, yet, it is also a necessary evil they must live with. I believe that boundaries should be defined by the journalism profession to what extent a man’s personal affairs can be subjected to public debate.