Some cities create extra housing by constructing tall buildings. Other cities do this by building on wide areas of land. Which do you think is the best solution to the problem of housing?

In this era, due to a spurt in population dwelling in the cities become a matter of concern. Some metropolis finds the solution for this by expanding vertically while others prefer to grow horizontally. However, the focus of this essay is to discuss both views I concur with the former statement and the reasons shall be stated in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, the construction of high-rises will save space requirements for housing. To elaborate, the multi-storey property will accommodate numerous families and they will be sharing common resources viz. Water tank, infrastructure for electricity, Gas connection etcetera. For example, hectic metropolitan cities like Delhi, and Mumbai choose the vertical model, and skyscrapers became the icon of these cities nowadays. Furthermore, since apartments have residents association, it organises cultural events, sports activities and so on. As a result, it will boost the bonding among communities and will have recreation for the people. On the other hand, low-rise buildings are safer when compared to high-rise. To clarify, during fire accidents or earthquakes it is effortless to do rescue measures in the Urban sprawl. For instance, When the World trade centre was under terrorist attack it was a herculean task for the firefighters to do their rescue operations. In addition, individual homes provide more privacy and we can enjoy our private garden and courtyard. On top of that, waste management won't be a daunting task for the authorities. In conclusion, having discussed both views I infer that the construction of high-rise buildings is the conducive solution for the high population growth rate since skyscrapers will consume only less area in comparison to low-rise buildings. And the vertical model will boost harmony among residents and society.