Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local product?

Nowadays,large entities spend a huge amount of money on marketing campaigns to promote their products,which have negative side effects for the end consumer. This essay will highlight as well the solutions from my point of view to encourage people to purchase local products. In the beginning, negative side effects started to occur. For instance,companies like P&G and Unilever and all their products accused nearly 70% of the market,which by default had full control of the supply chain and prices at all points of sales.Plus, by concentrating only on products they want to market,and leaving behind other products even if it was prominent to consumers,they can convince them in a way that they are no more useful in their life. For example,the evolution of Gillette blades and how it became harmful for men to use a regular blade. Furthermore,small and medium institutions went through bankruptcy because of this accusation and not being able to compete,or their best scenario was to merge with these large companies. From my perspective,to encourage customers to buy local products, the government have a big responsibility to put limits on these companies. Although it differs from one country to another based on the government regulations and taxes, they should increase taxes on exports,even on the company factory if it was getting supply within the country boundaries they should add more taxes.Another solution, is funding the local trade from the annual budget to increase its market share gradually,for things to be balanced like what happened in china for businessmen to export outside the country and sell to locals. In a nutshell, spending a huge marketing budget is not a bad thing,until the private sector exceeds limits and affects customers' daily benefits. Moreover,governments should take corrective measures to prevent this from expanding.