Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Evidence suggests the increasing rate of caring home and nursing home entrance. Although there are benefits to this trend the disadvantages of it aren’t negligible. On the plus side, the advantages of this trend are manifold. To begin with, many elder people suffer from loneliness and being away from people of their age, but in these places, there are many people that can communicate and negotiate with each other., Also elder people need more health care such as taking needed medicine, visiting the doctor, eating healthy food and …, so if they live in these places, they can take these kinds of care. However, the downside cannot be ignored. People need to communicate with their relatives, in this trend, relatives and family members will live apart and the relationship between them will be weak. Another disadvantage of this trend is that living in these places might be boring for some people and lead them to depression. To conclude, growth in caring and nursing home entrance rates has benefits and also detriments. While it might help society to have happier elder people, it may also make them apart from their families.