Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world’s resources. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we live in a developed society that gives us the opportunity to reach every part of the world thanks to flight companies. Someone argues that these kinds of travel should be decreased with restrictions, because it is the root of environmental pollution. I do not agree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain my point of view and I will also provide some examples. To begin with, today's economy needs people that travel all around the globe. We are actually living in a globalised society, where everyone is connected with others, especially when it comes to business and global markets. As mentioned before, the economy cannot survive if individuals do not use air travel to reach different countries and continents. Furthermore, a huge amount of trade among companies is made with partners in different parts of the world. For example, a big company like Eni, which provides gas and solar energy in Europe, will dramatically reduce its annual revenue and in a few years would fail, because of restrictions on flights In addition to that, by reducing the possibility of travelling long distances, another important sector as tourism will be drastically damaged. The industry of tourism is one of the biggest of the 21st century and this is also due to the fact of long destination travel. Tourists are no longer interested in destinations next to their home countries, but they prefer remote lands as well as new continents. Obviously, to reach distant locations, people need to use planes and this accounts for a big percentage of the air travel industry. For instance, a recent study showed that more than 40% of individuals are interested in long-distance trips. To conclude, despite air travel companies can be considered responsible for damaging the environment, I strongly disagree with the idea of limiting this industry, because it is essential for the economy of this century and for the tourism market. Instead, governments and scientists should develop new fuels for aeroplanes to reduce the rate of pollution.