Influence Of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to extinction of species and loss of Biodiversity What are the primary causes of loss bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

The detrimental impact on the environment caused by people’s destructive activity has led to the extinction of numerous species as well as disruption to biodiversity. This essay will examine some main factors contributing to this and also suggest the measure which could be implemented by the authorities. One key issue that causes the extinction of species is deforestation due to the considerable increase in the population, consequently, the demand for energy and basic needs rises accordingly. To meet this demand, energy resources are often exploited in unsustainable ways and foods are produced by converting a vast area of rainforest into an agricultural area. As a result, wildlife species which formerly inhibit the area lose their home and die out eventually. Take Food Estate in central Kalimantan as an example, the ambitious project has been sacrificing a large area of rainforest in Kapuas regency and responsible for the annihilation of many species of primates. There are some possible remedies to the problem. First and foremost, the governments should protect areas where apes and monkeys can thrive — for example, by establishing natural parks and reserves where they will be nourished and protected from harmful activities. Moreover, another way to mitigate the risk of animal extinction is to promote awareness among the people about the dangers of this problem. The government should organize clubs on animal rights and educate people that the majority of species are at the edge of extinction. If we took these steps, it would greatly enhance people’s consciousness of environmental protection. To conclude, human activities such as excessive cultivation of land which are taking away animals' natural habitats are major causes of the loss of biodiversity. And the risk of this problem can be mitigated by protecting areas and promoting awareness among citizens.