Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The transportation system is the art of most economic growth of a nation. It is argued that the authority should invest more budget on rail transport than roads. I totally agree with this opinion due to the reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Firstly, railway system maintenance is negligible compared to roads as well as highways. When the government allocate a budget to improve rail line infrastructure or construct it, people use the structure for commuting or travelling even for 100 years with very low maintenance cost. Therefore, the government impose low taxes for train or subway ticket. For example, in my country, Iran, the railway system is the most popular means of transport, because the cost of tickets is low in comparison with other means of transportation. Secondly, the railway system is among the fastest means of transport, in spite of the low rate of accidents. Every year there are lots of reports about road accidents, so people prefer using the rail line system with more security. As you have known a person who drives a train is an expert, therefore he/she is more reliable than a taxi driver. For instance, in Europe people usually prefer the train to commute long distances, because of the low price of the ticket and also its speed to reach the destination, so everybody can afford it. To sum up, as discussed in the above paragraphs I totally agree with the idea that more budget should be allocated to the rail system and building more railroads rather than diverting funds for improving highways and road transit systems.