Some people think that children nowadays have too much freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that children are given excessive freedom in the present day. From my point of view, I partly agree with this idea because they do have more choices than before. There are several reasons why I agree that children have more freedom currently. Firstly, a growing number of parents would do whatever they can to meet the leisure needs of their offspring. For example, it is more likely to happen now that a father would purchase a console if his child asks for it. Secondly, students are encouraged to develop their own hobbies at school or in their family while those in the past would be forced to learn some subjects in which they had no interest. Therefore, I agree that children have more freedom in the family or at school nowadays. Despite the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that such freedom has a beneficial impact on both the academic and psychological development of children. Students are allowed to choose their favourite courses to learn, and this means that they are more likely to achieve a better academic performance because they are passionate about what they are taught. For instance, in China, many students are free to select subjects they are interested in as elective courses, and they usually perform well in such courses. Besides, being given more freedom can help to make them become self-reliant. They are encouraged to make decisions on their own and shoulder the responsibility for their behaviour, and this will undoubtedly be advantageous to their future life. In conclusion, I agree that children nowadays have more freedom than those in the past, and I believe that this is a positive development.