Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

With the increase in per capita income in many developed and developing countries, nowadays people can easily afford to buy cars for their private usage. This has resulted in more cars on the road which eventually leads to traffic congestion. In my view, excessive numbers of private cars have a direct impact on creating traffic jams in cities. In past decades, private cars used to be considered luxury products which could be affordable for rich people only. However, in recent times individual income has increased substantially than previous times due to overall economic growth in many countries. As a result, people prefer buying private vehicles and commuting in private cars which can carry fewer people (4 to 5 people) instead of public transport which can carry 30 to 40 people at one time. Consequently, in rush hours more vehicles run through the road containing fewer people, yet using more space. For example, in Bangladesh people suffer from traffic jams in the morning since thousands of office or school-going people leave home for their destinations using their own vehicles rather than public transport. In order to minimize the problem, the government can play a vital role. Firstly, state authorities should invest in improving the public transport system in such a way that people get interested in using them. Also, the security of using the bus, trains, and other public vehicles must be ensured by local law enforcement authorities. Secondly, the government can impose high taxes on purchasing private vehicles which in return will slow down the increasing number of cars on the road. In addition, cars can be rationalized in busy areas by restricting for specific days or time for reducing pressure on roads. To conclude, although people always prefer purchasing private vehicles as they offer more comfort and security than public transport, an excessive number of cars causes difficulty in road movement. Therefore, the government should take steps to popularize public transport in order to reduce vehicle congestion.