Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home,leisure, and work activities. Do the advantages of information technology outweigh the drawbacks?

In the modern world, there is the dominant influence of information technology on the majority of spheres in people’s lives. Despite a few negative consequences, numerous advantages, such as the simplification of house cleaning procedures, transition to having work and spending leisure time online, are brought due to this facility. What could be viewed as a positive side of domination of information technology in people’s lives is a reduction of time for household chores, which can now be used more efficiently. In other words, humans can call a cleaning or hire a cook, thereby freeing themselves from these household tasks. By doing it they create more opportunities for them to pay attention to other spheres in life, such as family and friends. Even though there is a possibility for a person to become lazy, another benefit of this convenience is that people can change the way they work, which may lead to the positive development of their lives. To put it in another way, by choosing to work online, humans free more time for self-development and traveling. As a result, they inevitably become broad-minded. Turning to the disadvantages of the Internet's influence on people, it should be mentioned that there might be two negative consequences. The major drawback of it is that people get too lazy to accomplish various tasks, because there is always a possibility to hire someone to do it. For instance, cooking is losing its popularity, as it is easier to order takeout food. The second negative consequence of information technology, can be regarded as a deterioration of the quality of time spent on entertainment. A great example can be the computer games, when playing which the person not only reduces the time spent on communication with others but also has more time spent alone with himself. This trend leads to the worsening of people’s communication skills and the relationship developing between them. In conclusion, although using the Internet has certain disadvantages, the positive aspects of it are more numerous and might simplify and improve human life.