In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food or use animal products, for instance, clothing and medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past decades or so, there has been campaign after campaign advocating for animal rights, calling for people to stop utilizing animals for our own benefit. It’s true that science and technology have developed to a level where substitutes for animal products could satisfy needs in nearly all aspects of life, however, animal products still play indispensable roles in certain spheres of life, so we can't say that it is no longer necessary to use animals. Admittedly, animals are certainly not the only source of proteins necessary for a healthy physique. For example, plants like soybeans could be processed so that they could offer this nutrition while being as tasty as real meat. In addition, synthesized fibres which are almost identical to animal furs could also function as raw materials for clothes, keeping people warm and fashionable. Nevertheless, animals still remain irreplaceable in numerous fields of life. First of all, in medical research, animals are still massively used for all kinds of trials. Brutal as it may seem, experimenting on animals is still an inevitable clinical process for the invention of new medicine. Besides, large amounts of animals are also used in medical school for anatomy study or for practice. It’s truly unjustified to think of animal lives as inferior to human lives, but we don’t have other alternatives. Secondly, animals also have other practical values in medical treatments. Cases can be seen where pig skins are transplanted into human bodies to cure those who are severely burnt. To be honest, this is not the only solution, but it still is the best choice economically since it could save the patients large amounts of money. In conclusion, we still can’t avoid using animals in critical areas and that’s why it is necessary. However, we as humans should never ignore the fact that all lives are created equally, and we should never take the sacrifices of animals for granted.