Rich people are getting richer, and poor people are getting poorer. The gap between rich and poor people is widening. What problems can the situation cause? What can be done to reduce this gap?

In recent decades, so controversial is the topic of taking measures to manage the financial gap between the upper and lower classes of societies, that economists even have introduced a special indicator for measuring it called the Gini ratio. Among a variety of economists ' approaches toward this problem, I am interested in heterodox economists ' belief that such a gap could lead to exceeding instability in social aspects of communities so governments should balance the opportunities to mitigate possible consequences. To begin with, heterodox economists, like institutional school economists, believe that economic inequality will lead to many social anomalies in case of drastic growth. In other words, Alvin Roth among one of them explains that, due to the socioeconomic aspect of inequality, sometimes such detriment could be the social consequences of the financial gap among citizens that will lead to corruption, either administrative or else, theft and even personal suicide. There with reference to well-known research, he exemplifies, in countries with a high Gini ratio, above 69%, 31% more corruption and theft cases have been reported. In,addition he mentions that people from the lower class in such societies are more susceptible to depression when they face the opulent class lifestyle. Therefore, institutionalists, as a remedy for such a detrimental problem, provide the government with this suggestion that the main key is balancing the distribution of opportunities among different categories of citizens. In a more simple wording, they believe neither financial support of the government from poor people nor setting huge taxes on wealthy people would not be as effective as providing the same and equal business, educational and political opportunities. For instance, a student from a poor family if he has a good educational quality, will have the same chance to follow an upper-level class career path, and reasonably would have better financial status in long term, so the overall gap will decrease the generations gradually. To conclude, as it's mentioned above to prevent from deteriorating social consequences of the financial gap governments shall focus on decelerating the success-for-successful reinforcing loop through equal distribution of growth opportunities