Many people believe that young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the local community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

The process of becoming an adult is not the easiest one, as the older a person is, the more obligations and responsibilities for their lives appear. There is a common belief that young people should work for free for a local company during a certain period of time. However, there are both negative and positive aspects of such an opinion. What might be regarded as a clear advantage of working for free is that an employee gains a unique experience, which sometimes is even more valuable than money. Not only does it allow to pick up some work peculiarities in the adjacent professional areas, but also gives a way to endless opportunities, including full employment in the current company or in the bigger enterprise. Moreover, an internship serves as a perfect addition while writing a motivational letter or a curriculum vitae, as this demonstrates the competent skills, commitment, and seriousness of intentions of an applicant. Turning to the drawbacks of undertaking free work, there are two main negative aspects that should be pointed out. One of them is a contradiction to the statement that each job has to be paid. Otherwise, there is a lack of motivation and a poor work performance. Besides, it is almost impossible to survive without a salary and a person is forced to find a part-time job if they are fully independent and have no financial support from the outside. This frantic working pace may lead to exhaustion and burning out and become a reason for constant fatigue or even depression. Another downside is the lack of choice. If the internship is free and is aimed to acquire profound practical knowledge, the employee has no other way as to run errands, be patient and tolerate ill treatment and an unfair or unintelligent chef. In conclusion, the opinion about undertaking a free job for a certain period of time is quite controversial and might be regarded both as a beneficial opportunity and an unbearable burden.