There is an increasing number of juvenile delinquents . Analyse the possible causes that give rise to this phenomenon and offer some feasible recommendations.

Criminal activities amongst children and teenagers is becoming a very popular occurrence in many parts of the world today. This is as a result of social medial influence and drug related problems. This essay will discuss the impacts of the above mentioned factors and how changing the age of criminal responsibility and rehabilitation programmes can alleviate this phenomenon. Most importantly, is the damning impact that platforms like face book, twitter and Instagram have on this age group. Children at this age are susceptible to peer pressure and lack the maturity to fully comprehend the consequences of their actions. Thus they find themselves at the mercy of the ever changing trends perpetuated by social medial influencers. A United Nation 2022 statistic revealed that, children who watch video games are more likely to engage in crime than those who do not, while those who join any social media platform before age 14, are twice likely to do a jailtime than their counterparts who wait until the of 17 to join any social medial. Drug and drug abuse has a high correlation to committing crime. This is because juveniles who have access to drugs get addicted and opt to illegal ways of sustaining supply like stealing. There is an urgent need for advocacy for increasing the age of criminal responsibility to above 17 in most countries. This will accord children the time grow up and further develop their interpretation of the outcome of their actions. Consequently, this eliminates the vulnerability of young age offenders. In addition, community rehabilitation and detention facilities can be positively used to support child offenders become better version of themselves. Research shows that juvenile offenders are more likely to mature and outgrow their wrong start in life and become changed adults than adult offenders if they get supported during and after incarceration.