Some people think secondary school students and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to set up the secondary school and high school curriculum has become a major concern for the many. In general, I believe that students should be granted the autonomy to choose either academic courses to enter universities or practical courses leading to professions such as carpentry. Every year, in many countries, millions of high school seniors apply to university, simply because gaining a degree can significantly increase one’s career prospects in such a competitive job market. Today, most jobs will not offer an internship or even an interview to candidates without a bachelor's degree. Besides, many careers, such as those in medicine, architecture, and law, cannot be practiced without a particular degree, so students who have career aspirations in these fields have to choose to study at higher educational level. Therefore, preparing courses for university applications is essential. One important but often underestimated role of university is that it offers a learning environment more for self-exploration and self-development than for other objectives, so students can achieve their potential or even to excel from university experience. On the other hand, although there are a large number of potential university applicants, increasingly more students may not feel that a three-year or four-year degree is right for them. Even if they end up enrolling into a university, they may find themselves in a career that is not personally fulfilling. What is worse, young people are not guaranteed a stable job after graduating from university. They have witnessed examples of those who came before them still struggling to find work while those who have finally landed jobs are underpaid or exploited. Therefore, students should be allowed to study courses for trade schools or technical colleges, where hands-on skills for specific careers will be taught and certain certificates can be earned in a one-year or two-year period. An important but often overlooked fact is that professionals like carpenters, mechanics, and electricians now have a better or at least not bad vocational outlook as they can respond to a more realistic and constant need. Overall, I believe that students should be ensured of the opportunity to choose between these two types of courses, and they need to figure out what they aspire for their future.