Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Man is a social animal by nature.They want to be part of communities and wish to live with friends and family. Youth is one such stage in an individual's life where they enjoy the company of their peers.The age is also a time when the youth learns to distinguish good from bad and is often influenced by those around them. One such influence is the pressure from a friend circle often called peer pressure. peer pressure offers both advantages and disadvantages and in the forthcoming,paragraphs we will discuss both and examine if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, Youth is a age when people get easily influenced and often under peer pressure land up getting into stuff like smoking,drugs and alcohol.These habits are not only detrimental to their health but youth also loses focus on the most important goals of their life. Also at this stage of, life there is an urge to be included in groups and gatherings and a lot of youth end up spending their hard-earned money on expensive phones, clothes and trips. Instead, this is the age at which they should learn to invest and grow. Furthermore, peer pressure also affects the career they choose, the earnings they should have etc. Often if the youth is not able to perform up to the level of their peers they end up getting depressed and prone to anxiety-related disorders. The peer pressure lands them into a competitive race which affects their mental and physical health. This can be illustrated by the example where an increasing suicide rate is often associated with the peer pressure On the other hand, peer pressure also has several positive aspects. The pressure often motivates us to bring out the best in us. If we belong to a peer group which is doing well in life. We are also motivated to put in extra hard work and reach up to those goals.An example of this is bill gates, In his,interview he often said that he and his other two friends were deeply interested in computers and this motivated him early on to start his own business. It is a famous saying also " Man is known by the company he keeps". Therefore if one grows in a good company one is expected to excel beyond their normal boundaries. Also managing peer pressure well helps the youth to attend to other stressful situations in a great manner. In the end, after considering all the points I would like to conclude that peer pressure is a double-ended sword and it is up to individuals whether they get motivated or stressed out from this. One should also learn to manage the pressure in such a way that it acts like inspiration rather than a negative effect on one's health.