Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that planet Earth has been greatly contaminated by humans and the flora and fauna suffer from this. Some people argue that we can do nothing to tackle this problem nowadays, while others assert that we can still manage to cope with it. In my opinion, I completely agree with the latter that both governments and individuals can take measures to address this issue. There are several reasons why it is argued that this problem is too late to be solved. Firstly, an increasing number of extinctions of endangered species can be seen on news, which makes people cynical about whether we can do anything to tackle this situation. Secondly, those extinct species are lost forever and it would be impossible for us to bring them back to life. For example, the dodo, which has been extinct for several centuries, no longer exists on our planet. Finally, owing to rapid development in the past few centuries, human beings have been requiring massive land that used to be the habitats of plants and animals, which is the main cause of extinction. Nonetheless, despite the severe damage that we have done to the earth, I believe that we still have opportunities to solve this situation. To start with, governments should implement stringent laws to stop any illegal animal hunting to encourage wildlife preservation. Besides, both authorities and individuals should use paper efficiently and promote paper recycling. For instance, employees can print double-sided to reduce their use of paper and authorities can set up banks for recycling. Furthermore, green taxes can be introduced to encourage residents to travel in an environmentally friendly way. In conclusion, I believe that it is never too late to start saving our planet Earth and there are a number of measures that can be taken by governments and individuals to improve this problem.