Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

People who live in a foreign country often have difficulties speaking foreign languages which might cause social and practical problems. I completely agree because having a language barrier while living in a foreign country might make our daily activities difficult. Many people decide to live in foreign countries because the job or academic opportunities are promising. The biggest challenge that people will experience while living in a foreign country is the language barrier, especially when English is not their native language. Without preparation, people might experience difficulties in communicating with others, which could affect their daily activities. For example, people who cannot speak the local language might experience difficulties in making friends. In addition, it might develop loneliness which most people who live in foreign country experience. On the other hand, this feeling of loneliness combined with homesickness might affect their mental health. Therefore, it is important to learn a foreign language before deciding to live in a foreign country. In conclusion, I think having language barriers while living in a foreign country could cause a serious problem which eventually could affect mental health. However, it could be prevented if we are prepared to learn the local language to communicate with the people.