Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative delvelopment ?

Smartphones are an essential element of technology in our daily lives. Children these days have become the end users of this ever-evolving advancement of human achievement. It is generally seen that children spend hours on their devices, as they navigate through the myriads of technology. Although smartphones have endless possibilities, they also open doors to an unknown world which can be challenging for youngsters to comprehend and benefit from. I personally believe that this trend can have detrimental effects on a child's development. Firstly, children can access content that is not age-appropriate. This can affect their behaviour while growing up and lead to situations where they take wrong decisions. Furthermore, when minors are left with their devices for long hours, it reaches a situation where parental supervision is minimal. To illustrate this, many news reports have shown the dangers of the internet, where young adults are being manipulated through games and websites that affect their mental health and moral well-being through cyber-bullying, ransom, and many more. Secondly, young ones need physical activities for their holistic development. Being the victims of smartphones for endless hours of browsing, gaming and social media can eat out the valuable hours in their daily lives to get active and physically fit. For example, playing outside and socializing with friends can help children learn strong values and prepare themselves to be better individuals for tomorrow. To summarize, the effect of gadgets on kids are far worse than the benefits, if left unchecked or unsupervised. Moreover, parents can help little ones to attain a healthy balance while using these devices to reap the benefits of this modern technology.