Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, almost everyone has a smartphone that became usual in our lives. Nevertheless, special organisations are able to control humanity using the information from their phones while they do not even think about it. That invention has both pros and cons. In my opinion, the upsides outweigh the drawbacks and, in this essay, I will set out to explain why. On one hand, using information from gadgets is helpful for police in organising search operations and may save a person’s life. Following the websites, calls or pictures used by a kidnapper also may help to prove the fault of a criminal. For example, all smartphones have the access to the Internet so parents can download special apps to track their kids, especially when there is a necessity. Second, monitoring the cameraphones is important in preventing terrorism. Namely, it was proved that terrorists use applications and messengers to communicate and locate the object. Fortunately, almost every app agrees to cooperate and gives data to the police when it is vital. On the other hand, the most obvious downside is the lack of privacy. In other words, those who just have WI-FI can have all the important info about everyone in the world. For instance, there are some cases when scammers were lucky enough to steal all a person’s data with a help of phone viruses. If an individual tries to download something from an insecure website there is always a chance that a virus will be downloaded instead of a file. To conclude, following a personal life through a cellphone is vital to prevent criminal actions despite that intervention is quite bothering. Personally, I believe that the positive consequences of tracking a person outweigh the negative and it is one of the important ways to improve police work.