Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether it is more important for students to study history or science-related subjects. I believe that, even though both play a critical role in imparting a well-rounded education, the latter seems to be more important in today’s world. Admittedly, history should be a compulsory subject, as it helps foster patriotism and unbiased views of other nations. Regarding the former, with recent trends towards globalization, the need to preserve one’s national identity is considerable, and best addressed through the teaching of a country’s historical events and figures. A deeper knowledge of such matters could nurture a sense of unity, and thus a natural desire to protect said nation and its values. Moreover, comprehension of other countries’ history could lead to fewer misunderstandings between international allies and trade partners. For example, understanding the complicated history of Japanese imperialism in World War II could prevent us from mentioning certain sensitive topics when doing business with Japanese, Korean, or Chinese partners, as the latter two had suffered at the hands of imperial Japan’s invasions. On the other hand, I believe knowledge related to stem subjects is more crucial nowadays in order to increase individual employability and societal development. It is a fact that the majority of vacancies are now in professions requiring a strong foundation in math and technology, necessitating an increase in the training of students in said fields. By contrast, history majors typically find it challenging to compete for well-paid jobs, except for limited positions in universities and museums. Beyond that, one of the fiercest global competitions these days is in science and technology research, which gives nations a critical edge, most importantly, in economic and defence activities. A workforce equipped with advanced knowledge in these domains could bolster the competitiveness of their economy and ensure its long-term sustainable growth. In conclusion, despite the indispensable role of history education, it seems that math and science-related subjects are even more important for each individual and their own country’s progress. Both disciplines should thereby be emphasized in schools, but the time allocated to each of them should be allocated according to their importance.