In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

There has been an increase in the crime rate in several countries. Crimes such as murder, robbery and theft are turning to a more violent form where it does considerable harm to humanity. One main reason for this increase is the poor implementation of the law and order. For example, countries like South Africa lack proper strict rules and a strong government body that can control the people or direct them to adjust in a society in a manner that everyone enjoys peace and safety among one another. Another cause of the rise in crime is poverty. If people cannot meet their basic requirements using legitimate means, they will take to crime. The influence of media and drug addiction are all factors that prompt people to engage in criminal activities. Other driving factors in this regard are the high unemployment rate, fewer job opportunities and significantly increasing cost of living. Many developing countries like India are facing such challenges. Most of the youths who are capable of achieving great things end up wasting their potential in criminal activities such as theft and antisocial activities. The most effective way to accomplish this is to have proper enforcement of law and order. There should be stringent laws to deter people from committing crimes. Apart from that the government should also open up a wide range of job opportunities so that people from each and every sector can get employed and earn their living in a legitimate way. To conclude, criminal activities are on the rise due to the rise in unemployment rate and media influence. In my opinion, proper enforcement of law and order and generation of more employment opportunities will improve the situation to a great extent.