Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

These days, numerous people are opting for longer hours for working. This is because of the excess workload and it may cause severe health issues for the labours. To begin with, the increasing workload is the significant reason for longer working hours. To clarify, some companies are compelling their staffs to meet the client's needs with their full effort and time. Thus, the workers are captivated to finish their tasks on the same day by moving to the overtime working habit. For instance, nowadays, bank employees are forced to complete more projects and they are compelled to remain in the bank late night. In addition, there are some other companies who motivate their staff by giving extra payment for extra working hours and it motivates the employees to make their working time longer. However, the long working time has some consequences such as the over- time may adversely affect the laborer's health. To elaborate, long working hours may tend to miss their meals at the perfect times and they may lack enough resting time. This might affect not only their physical conditions but also their mental situations. To illustrate, there are a plethora of workers who are working in front of a computer suffering from neck pain and back pain in my country. Furthermore, working for a long time decreases the laborer's time to have fun with his/her family and friends. Therefore, it may negatively affect their social interactions and relationships. In conclusion, individuals are running-a-rat-race to meet their ends nowadays and it is a growing tendency to work overtime to achieve their tasks and extra income. However, it may affect their family life and physical strength. Thus, it is hopeful that individuals will think prudently about choosing longer working hours in the days to come.