You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is considered by some that children of parents whose both mother and father are employed have better financial stability, there are others who think that these children may not get enough help from their busy parents. I strongly advocate the former view. In this essay, I will discuss both these views with relevant examples. In this extremely competitive society, everything now comes with a price tag. Therefore, without sufficient income within the family, parents will not be able to fulfil all the necessary requirements of their children. For example, as medical expenses have sky-rocketed, in an emergency, parents will not be able to give the best treatment to their child, if they have an income lower than the average of many families. On the other hand, when both parents have to work, after returning home they will be very tired. As such, they will not be able to spend some quality time with their children and give vital emotional support to their children. As a result, children will feel lonely and will lead them to build unhealthy relationships with strangers in society. For example, in a family where both parents were doctors, their only child got addicted to drugs unknown to his parents and ultimately committed suicide. In conclusion, I strongly believe that salary earned by a single parent is not sufficient to give their children a competitive edge in society. While it is evident that children are prone to be neglected by their father and mother due to their busy lifestyles, both parents should find suitable jobs while managing their time effectively to have some happy family time.