Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous businesses in the food industry that decided to conduct high levels of sugar products which leads to health damage. For that reason, some groups of people claim that sugar needs to charge a high cost to fewer people who consume it. I totally disagree with this statement since sugar brings benefits and contains advantages to consumers as well as people still can find another alternative which might cause more health problems. First thing first, sugar is one of the most essential spices to use in daily life since it has health benefits and it not only brings people drawbacks. Taking an example, most athletes after completing their practice will eat sweets such as protein bars to moderate their sugar levels or calm themselves down after several long training hours. It is clear to see that sugar is a substance to a certain group of people and charging this spice at a high cost will not be fair to them. Secondly. if the government make sugar costly, businesses still can use some other chemical or alternative man-made sugar to use instead, and the consequences for that are obesity, and high level of sugar in the blood. For instance, sugar alcohols or agave are two common alternative sweeteners for baking because is it more affordable than white sugar. However, those chemicals are low in protein and could be easier to meet health damage than using sugar. Hence, increasing the sugar price is not an extreme solution for reducing health problems. Instead of rising sugar costs, the government should reduce the price of natural sweeteners such as raw honey, sugar cane sugar or stevia to promote people to use them since it packs nutrition and people are easier to approach. In conclusion, increasing sugar prices might not be a good idea because it is still a substance sweetener and people still can find other lower price options for chemicals to conduct their products.