Due to development and expansion of supermarket many small local markets are unable to complete. Some people think that the closing of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the present day, advances in technology have led to the development of shopping malls. Some have argued that it has led to the closure of small local markets, which negatively impacts the local people. I agree that an increase in shopping malls is detrimental to a certain extent, however, I think that the development of supermarkets is beneficial as a whole. To begin with, local sellers are usually involved in the production of items with cultural and historical values. For example, tailors in India design and make the 'Saree', which is a traditional attire of the Indians. Due to globalisation, western clothing such as T-shirts and jeans are easily available in a supermarket. As a result, more and more people in India are not wearing their traditional attire. This will eventually lead to the disappearance of their culture and tradition. On the other hand, the expansion of supermarkets has several benefits for the local community. Supermarket usually sells foods and products that are imported from other countries. Nowadays consumers are able to enjoy new products that are not available previously. For instance, the British are able to enjoy tropical fruits such as mangos and durians which are not planted in their own country. On top of that, the growth of supermarkets has led to an increase in job opportunities. This is because supermarket usually operates on a large scale. Thus, creating more employment opportunities for the local people. In conclusion, I believe that the expansion of supermarkets is beneficial as a whole, where the local community can enjoy a wide range of products and have more job opportunities.